Monthly Recap: July 2017

Monthly-Recap

This new ‘Monthly Recap’ series captures daily (well, almost daily) celebrations around the world. It’s an eclectic collection of bizarre observances and hilarious commemorations of the past month. Check out my blog on a regular to see what we’re celebrating each day (well, almost)! After all, there’s an international day for everything isn’t there?!

 

July 6, 2017

Today is, believe it or not, Umbrella Cover day. When I heard about this I thought it was a made-up day to commemorate something as useful as the exterior shower curtain (NOT useful at all, btw). For those of you who are not posh enough to own an exterior shower curtain, it’s the second curtain that falls outside of the tub for aesthetic purposes. You would think that its main purpose is to add an extra shield to prevent water from escaping the shower area but if you think about it, it only actually directly backs-up the interior curtain. Thus, providing no extra coverage at all. Still reading? I’m shocked because this is the most boring topic I’ve ever written about and that’s my POINT.. UMBRELLA COVERS?! What the H. Christ??? umbrella coverWho cares!! But apparently, plenty do! There’s actually a website for these bizarre people who collect the umbrella covers and apparently a GUINNESS WORLD RECORD of someone who owns the most umbrella freaking covers! Congratulations lady- you have collected a large, useless amount of fabric that does nothing, for no good reason.

 Sources: Umbrella Cover Museum / Umbrella Cover Day

July 7, 2017

Today is WORLD Chocolate Day! Chocolate is one of those things that not many people dislike. But always if you ever meet that one person who dislikes (maybe even despises) chocolate, you wonder to yourself, “what kind of monster hates chocolate?!” And it’s true! It’s like chocolatesaying you hate rainbows, puppies or getting a head massage. These people are reckless, they are indecent and should be examined under a microscope. FACT about me *ahem*: I don’t, ah, I actually don’t love chocolate myself but do appreciate a good craving of it here and there. Now, enough about me- here are some wonderful chocolate facts in honour of today:            

  1. The smell of chocolate increases theta brain waves, which triggers relaxation.
  2. White chocolate isn’t technically chocolate, as it contains no cocoa solids or cocoa liquor.
  3. The inventor of the chocolate chip cookie sold the idea to Nestle Toll House in return for a lifetime supply of chocolate.
  4. M&Ms were created in 1941 as a means for soldiers to enjoy chocolate without it melting.
  5. Eating dark chocolate every day reduces the risk of heart disease by one-third.
Source: THE Chocolate People

July 10, 2017

Don’t ever step on a bee because, like oww, they have stingers but especially not today because it’s “Don’t Step On a Bee Day”. I once was walking in flip-flops (lovely footwear of choice) and a bee somehow timed the rhythm of my feet moving up and down to every step, and creeped beesinto the space between my feet and flip-flop, and made me squish it to death (not my fault!). So in honour of bee day and that bee that I accidentally killed, here are some bee facts to spread awareness:

  • There are three kinds of bees in a hive: queen, worker and drone
  • Only the queen in the hive lays eggs
  • The worker bees are all female and they do all the work for the hive
  • If a worker bee uses her stinger, she will die
  • The male bees are called drones and their job is to find a queen to mate with

Staying on the subject of death, did you know… Death Valley, California, experiencedDeath Valley the highest temperature ever recorded on Earth on July 10, 1913- the temperature reached a scorching 56.7 ºC. I’ve always wanted to crack an egg on hot pavement on a really spiky, scalding day to see if it would cook. I hope someone tries this in Death Valley and posts a video on youtube for me to see. Actually, I’m sure there is one out there (maybe not in Death Valley though). Research time!!

Sources: Ontario Bee Facts / Death Valley USA Heat Record / Don’t Step On A Bee Day

July 11, 2017

Today is Cow Appreciation day but to me, this is like any other day because I appreciate cows EVERY DAY! cowI love cows, but only animated ones. I have cow mugs, cow paper, cow gift bags, cow soap dispensers, cow t-shirts, cow key chains and all sorts of cow doo-dads. Not sure when this obsession began but it stuck and I’m mooooore than okay with it!

Source: Cow Appreciation Day

July 12, 2017

This day was declared Malala Yousafzai day and it also happens to be her birthday. Malala is known for being a young education activist in Pakistan. Malala-Yousafzai_Antonio-OlmosIn October 2012, Malala was shot by the Taliban on her way to school. She reminds me of a famous philosopher who once said, ‘just like air and water, education should be free’. And I whole-heartedly agree. Because of people like Malala, standing up for what she believes in, this world has come farther than it would have otherwise. Happy Birthday Malala!

Source: Malala Day

July 13, 2017

Today is International Rock Day. No, not like rock bands but the igneous formations. While this is a weird thing to celebrate (not that most of the below subjects are not either), it did remind me of how much I appreciated rocks as a weird child. For some reason as a child I loved collecting rocks. pebbles-in-basketAnd I specifically remembered that it was not because I thought they were natural earth formations or anything like that but because they were free and no one could tell me I couldn’t accumulate as many rocks as my heart desired. Peculiar… I know. So one day, I started collecting as many rocks as I could and placed them in a brown wicker basket and put them directly on my bed. Like, you don’t understand, I slept in a bed with my rocks for weeks. No one cared… This story is actually sad because not only was I an odd child, but also my parents gave very little crap that I slept with dirty rocks on my bed.

Source: International Rock Day

July 14, 2017

Ever feel like you woke up on the wrong side of the bed and all of a sudden your day goes to shits? Yeah, that was me this morning because of last night. pandemoniumI remember it being quite rough. At one point I banged my head against my night table, felt the urge to poop and also had some stuff come up from dinner that made me want to puke. And to top it all off… I FORGOT MY BOOK TODAY. It was torturous sitting on the subway and having to just sit with my thoughts and stare at people. And then I checked what we are celebrating today and guess what?! It’s PANDEMONIUM DAY! How fitting!! Happy Friday People!

Source: Pandemonium Day

July 17, 2017

The magical world of Disneyland (named after its founder, Walt Disney) first opened its doors to the public in Anaheim, California in 1955. disneyIt has been dubbed the “happiest place on Earth”, but I will always remember it as the place where I ate too much and puked my guts out and Cam dropped her sunglasses in the toilet.

Today is also World Emoji Day. The first emoji was created in 1998 or 1999 in Japan by Shigetaka Kurita. Originally meaning pictograph, the Japanese word emoji emojihas a combined meaning of picture and character. The resemblance to the English words emotion and emoticon is purely coincidental.

Sources: Emoji Meaning / Disneyland Opens

July 18, 2017

I have walked that long road to freedom. I have tried not to falter; I have made missteps along the way. But I have discovered the secret that after climbing a great hill, one only finds that there are many more hills to climb. nelson mandelaI have taken a moment here to rest, to steal a view of the glorious vista that surrounds me, to look back on the distance I have come. But I can only rest for a moment, for with freedom come responsibilities, and I dare not linger, for my long walk is not ended.    -Nelson Mandela

Source: Mandela Day

July 19, 2017

It’s ICE CREAM day!!! Ice cream royalty, Ben & Jerry’s was founded in 1978 by Ben Cohen and Jerry Greenfield. ice creamIn celebration of ice cream day, here’s a random list of Ben & Jerry’s weirdest ice cream flavours:

  1. Schweddy Balls 
  2. Chubby Hubby
  3. Wavy Gravy
  4. Peanuts! Popcorn!
  5. Dastardly Mash!
Sources: Ice Cream Day / Ben & Jerry’s

July 20, 2017

Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer is one of my all-time favourite adventure books. It is an engrossing tale of one man’s near-death and life-altering experience climbing, arguably, the most unforgiving mountain in the world- Mount Everest. edmund hillary everestAnd in his best-selling book Krakauer talks of Sir Edmund Hillary, a famous New Zealand mountaineer/explorer, who is the first known person to scale a steep vertical rock face on the way to the summit. This steep vertical climb was later named after him as the Hillary Step. This day, in 1919, marks the birth of Sir Edmund Hillary.

Source: Happy Birthday Sir!

July 25, 2017

What better way to unwind after a long, tit-sweating day than taking off your bra and melting into your sofa while enjoying a glass of cabernet sauvignon and a scrumptious, hearty piece of cheddar? wine and cheeseSeriously, you tell me! Because I can’t think of anything better! Okay, well maybe not if you’re lactose intolerant… God, they ruin it for everybody!! But for the rest of us, Happy Wine and Cheese Day folks! 

Source: Wine & Cheese PLEASE!
 

July 26, 2017

Other than our parents and grandparents, our Aunties and Uncles are the closest relatives that love us the most- if you’re lucky that is. Uncle-and-AuntyMy childhood memories are filled with fun adventures and special slumber parties with my aunts, uncles and their children (my cousins). And on Mar 10, 2016 it all came full circle for me when I became an Auntie for the first time to my nephew, Jacob. JacobWe call him the miracle baby and his presence in our lives is nothing short of fate. He is one of the loves of my life and thinking of him calling me Auntie one day warms my heart but also breaks it a little bit because my love for him is so much deeper than any label, such as “Auntie”, could ever quantify. If you have one, grab your nephew or niece and cuddle them up good because before you know it, they will be all grown up!

Source: Auntie & Uncle Day!

July 27, 2017

I’ve never been a particularly warm and nurturing kind of person but those qualities are exactly what you need to keep a plant (or person for that matter) alive. So to my (and many others) surprise, I’ve managed to do the impossible. 

plantI’ve kept this plant alive for over 3 years now, since the night of Ashley’s wedding actually. Your entire life is about you, you & you until one day suddenly out of nowhere you just have the primal urge to keep a plant alive- that’s me. I’ve been on vacation and worried about watering my plant, I’ve searched the internet to find apparatuses that will help water it slowly over time in the absence of human beings, I’ve even hidden it from clumsy guests who I can imagine accidentally knocking it over. This post seemed fitting because today is ‘take your houseplant for a walk day’ but now I’m starting to sound like a senile senior citizen who is in love with houseplants. So on that note, I will sign off here. Don’t forget to water your plants!!!

Source: Walk The Plant
Leave a Reply

