June Blogger Spotlight

Welcome to my series in which I spotlight one of my followers. I’ve always had a deep fascination with people: how they became who they are, the struggles they won, and the hard lessons they learned over time. All of these scars and stories make up a person’s life. While I think it’s important to reflect on your own journey, it is also equally important to hear other voices and see diverse perspectives. In this series, the spotlighted blogger will be able to tell their story through curated questions I’ve asked of them.

The blogger I wanted to spotlight in June is someone I aspire to be. She’s a crusader for living green. What does that mean? Well, she details it so beautifully on her blog. She “firmly believes that if everyone makes just a few small changes, we can have a positive impact on the planet, the people around us, and our own wellbeing.” Her simple-living ideas have helped many of her followers (including me) focus on what truly matters beyond the material goods we can acquire in life. She has a big voice and she’s not afraid to use it! And best of all, she’s a Canadian like me! Finally, a friend who understands me when I write about the colourful behaviour of my favourite neighbours in the centre who honour and favour this very bloug blog.

Without further ado, I introduce you to Michelle of the Boomer Eco Crusader blog

A BIT ABOUT MICHELLE…

Which 3 characteristics would you say describes you?
I would describe myself as honest, energetic and positive.

What is one thing you do now that you didn’t do 10 years ago?
Singing with a band. About six years ago, I joined our local School of Rock and started singing with a live band. After singing in a choir my whole life, it stretched my musical abilities in different ways. I live for my Tuesday night jam sessions. There is no better stress reliever for me.

When you were a preteen, how did you answer this question: “What do you want to be when you grow up?” 
I wanted to be a flight attendant, mainly because it looked glamorous and I loved the idea of being paid to travel. I almost did it, too. When I was in my early 20’s, I applied for a job at Wardair. After several interviews, I was disappointed when I didn’t get the job. It all worked out though. I found a different job and that’s where I met my husband. Things work out the way they’re supposed to.

ON LIFE SO FAR…

What was your biggest fear growing up and did you overcome it?
I have always been terrified of heights. When I went to Banff with my husband years ago, I was afraid to go on the gondola so I stayed at the bottom of the mountain while he went up and enjoyed the view. After my daughters were born, I didn’t want to pass my fears on to them so I kind of forced myself into situations where I’d have to conquer my fear. I still go weak at the knees when they jump up and down on the glass floor in the CN Tower, though.

What’s the scariest thing that’s happened to you? Would you say that was a turning point in your life?
Definitely being diagnosed with cancer 11 years ago. When you hear those dreaded words “You have cancer”, you enter into unknown territory. Looking back, though, it was definitely an experience that gave me a new perspective on life and it taught me so much about myself. Last year, when I reached my ten year “cancerversary”, I wrote a blog post about my reflections. 

THOUGHTS/ADVICE…

On change: Is it good or bad?
I don’t think change is inherently good or bad. Sometimes, the changes we resist the most turn out to be the experiences where we gain the most wisdom and growth. On the other hand, the changes we expect to be great often don’t live up to our expectations. I think it’s important to approach every change as a learning opportunity.

On career: Do you believe it’s important to work at a job you love, or is it just a means to an end?
Life is too short to spend it at a job you hate. We all need something to be passionate about. That said, bills need to be paid and you need to eat. If your job doesn’t inspire you, find a passion project outside of work that does.

On confidence: Where do you get your confidence from? Were you always this way?
When I was younger, I was not at all confident. I constantly worried about what people would think of me. For me confidence has come from life experience and the willingness to take chances.

On marriage: What is the key to a long-lasting, happy marriage?
Well, I’ve been married for almost 28 years and I don’t consider myself an expert. If I had to pick one thing, it would be “don’t sweat the small stuff”. Sometimes you just have to let things go.

On parenting: What is one or two parenting advice you would give to a new parent?
Interestingly, I wrote a blog post on that when my youngest daughter turned 18 last year. 

ON BLOGGING…

When did you begin your blogging journey and why did you start?
I started my blog in July 2019. I had time on my hands because something I had been working on had ended, and I wanted to share my message about green living and sustainability with the world.

Who was the first blogger that you followed that still posts today?
It’s hard to remember but I think it was my friend Smell from Smelly Socks and Garden Peas

Who was the first blogger that followed you that still posts/follows you today?
It was my friend Cher who I have known for years. She has been blogging at The Chicago Files for a long time and she inspired me to start my own blog. She’s been a strong supporter of my blog. 

How would you describe your blog to someone who’s never read your content?
My blog is a place where I serve up a main course of green living, decluttering and simplifying life—with a side order of wisdom and life lessons.

Which of your posts are you most proud of?
It’s hard to pick favourites- kind of like picking your favourite child. Here are a few that I am proud of:
10 years, 10 lessons – What cancer taught me about life
Looking back on a year of decluttering
Orange Shirt Day – “The truth is not yet fully told”

What was your most recent post about?
My most recent post was part of my Simple Living Sunday series where I pick a weekly theme to reflect and focus on. This week’s theme was FOMO and why we should replace it with its better and brighter cousin, JOMO. 

Who was the first blogger that commented on that recent post? Please tell us a bit about their blog and why others should follow them.
The first person to comment was Vanessa from The Wellbeing Blogger. Vanessa has a master’s degree in Psychology and a certification in Well-being Coaching. Her blog is a place to support sensitive and creative people on their journey towards happiness and wellbeing. Recently, Vanessa has shifted the focus of the blog to helping people deal with the effects of autoimmune disease.

What is your favourite topic to write about?
I’ve never really stuck with a specific niche on my blog. I started out writing about sustainable living, then ventured into decluttering and simplifying life. These days, I think my favourite posts are the nuggets of wisdom I share on Simple Living Sunday.

Thanks so much for sharing, Michelle!

Liked this post? Check out other popular posts on my blog:

Read previous Blogger Spotlights below:

17 thoughts on “June Blogger Spotlight

  1. I love this series, Jen. I know you’re doing it once a month, and I enjoy reading others’ perspectives on life. Kudos to Michelle for supporting a green lifestyle and also for decluttering. One of my colleagues was the most organized person I know. She could put her hands on anything in her classroom in about five seconds or less. Since that was never my strength, I was somewhat envious.

    I think my favorite answer was how Michelle decided to overcome her fear of heights. Even if others don’t share that same fear, we can respect anyone who shows dogged determination to make changes, particularly when trying to teach their children a lesson.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Pete! That’s what I was most drawn to when coming up with this series, is to be able to get others’ viewpoints from where they stand in their life. And I agree, having children shifts our perspective on fear doesn’t it? We either no longer fear what we used to or because we don’t want to pass that anxiety down onto our children…

      Like

  2. This sounds terrific: My blog is a place where I serve up a main course of green living, decluttering and simplifying life—with a side order of wisdom and life lessons.
    Decluttering, simplifying–I like it! I also enjoy green living, as I’m already thrifty (nearly to a fault), which has me saving energy by hanging my clothes to dry, reusing sandwich and freezer bags, gardening, raising chickens… Living back to basics is where it’s at. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Michelle is right about how things work out for the best sometimes, no matter how much you want something. My mother used to say “if it doesn’t happen, it wasn’t meant to be.” I also wanted to be a flight attendant because I loved to travel and did so a lot in my 20s. I also applied and was not accepted. I went on a cruise and decided I would like to be like “Julie McCoy, Cruise Director” (from “The Love Boat” TV series) and applied, but I never heard from them either. I was an only child and my parents were paying for college and I had this idea to feed my travel hunger this way … my parents were horrified and I guess it was a good thing I never heard from either of these entities. May your health only continue to improve Michelle. P.S. – I am also a Canadian, though transplanted over here since ’66.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your mother was a wise woman! I would like to believe “if it doesn’t happen, it wasn’t meant to be” too. I tend to take that as a clue that perhaps something better is out there waiting to be discovered- all we have to do is just keep opening other doors. I also love that you never stopped having dreams and trying to fulfill those dreams! You seemed to have rebounded and pivoted directions very well, that takes courage!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you Jen … there is always more opportunities that await us if we just take the chance. My younger self was more adventurous than my older self which is more reluctant to jump in with both feet to tackle new (ad)ventures!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: June 2022 roundup of inspiring blog posts - Boomer Eco Crusader

  5. I love WordPress because it always feels like I’m part of a club when I see another blogger I know being mentioned. It’s like a neighbourhood where almost everyone knows each other. Great to see Michelle here, and to learn more about her. Good one this month, Jen!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: 2022 blog recap of best posts and highlights - Boomer Eco Crusader

Leave a comment